New Vision for this Site

 

focus

Originally, the concept for this site was to be a place for me to post my literary scribbles. Any short story that came to mind, I would put here for the world wide web’s approval and maybe I would submit these shorts for actual publication. But as I traveled along this not so lonely road, I learned that many publishers do not like to publish stories that appear on blogs. Many sites consider posting a story on your own blog as published. So after posting two stories, I had to stop. Dejected, I began to lose interest in my little site; letting it languish, not knowing what to do with it.

Six months later this past summer, I took an awesome Gotham Writers’ Workshop class. It was both enriching and enlightening. My instructor, Scott Alexander Hess, was both extremely knowledgeable and encouraging. At the end of the 10-week class, I’d come away with two workshopped shorts, a handful of great writing exercises/prompts and a writing group made up of the more active members of my class. Also I learned that an author blog was still a good idea if not a necessity.

Then I read the book DIY MFA by Gabriela Pereira. It’s a fine book on how if you just create writing practices for yourself, like writing with focus, reading with purpose, and building a writing community; you can skip the MFA programs and save a ton of money. This book really resonated with me. I found that many of the suggestions that Ms. Pereira makes, I was already doing. This gave me the confidence to know that I’m on the right track. Also, I don’t have a ton of money to spend on an MFA program. But more importantly, the book stresses a need for an author page or blog. Convinced, I dusted off the old blog, refocused it and re-purposed it. And here we are.

What is the new purpose of this blog? The blog will now be a place for me to write about my trials and tribulations as a burgeoning writer. I will write about my failures, my triumphs, my rejections, my writing space, my attempts at creating a writing practice.

Join me as I embark on this journey with renewed purpose and focus. Maybe you will find that you can relate to some of the trials and tribulations I am and will go through. And together, maybe we shall find the right path to our writer’s life.

2 thoughts on “New Vision for this Site

Leave a Reply

