Quince Breakdown

hqdefault

Noooooooo! My glorious streak was stopped at 15 days in a row of intentional writing. I was doing so well. Even on Christmas vacation I was able to get a ton of writing in for my current story. Look at this word count:

12/15/2016 – 300
12/16/2016 – 309
12/18/2016 – 530
12/19/2016 – 331
12/20/2016 – 1432
12/21/2016 – 344

12/22/2016 – 632
12/25/2016 – 830
12/26/2016 – 752
12/27/2016 – 1904
12/28/2016 – 1445

On 12/17 and 12/23, I blogged. On 12/29, I outlined for half a page, the end of my current story (probably not using any of it). On 12/30, I wrote two paragraphs for my current story (my cold firmly entrenched).

What happened? I’ll tell you what happened. I was in the middle of driving back from Hammond, Indiana to NYC and I’m sick as a dog. I haven’t been this sick since April and I feel worse than that time. This is the second time in a row that I have gotten sick on the tail-end of my vacation. Boo!

The drive back to NYC took 11.5 hours, 5.5 of which I drove. There was too much coughing, sneezing and hacking up phlegm during the 6 hours my wife drove so I didn’t have the energy to grab the old laptop. I thought about writing a few lines to my science fiction story once we arrived home, but when midnight New Year’s hit, I kissed my wife wished her a happy one, took a shit-ton of medication and went to bed. I even brought my laptop to bed with me, but Nyquil knocked me out faster than Amanda Nunes did Rhonda Rousey. Excuses, excuses; I know.

So the next question is, what do I do about it? For one, I mustn’t beat myself up about not being able to reach my goal. Shit happens! I mean did you see Mariah Carey’s ABC New Year’s performance? Dude, shit happens! So like Ms. Carey, I must pick myself up, dust myself off, get healthy and get back to business.

When a goal is not reached one must examine the original goal, understand why it wasn’t reached, and begin a new goal. I’m not sure how to go about it though. Do I start from Day 1 again or do I keep my tally and write for 21 out of 22 days? This is my program, so I must do what’s best for me and I choose the latter. It’s not like I’m an alcoholic and have to start at Day 1 sober again. It doesn’t make sense for me to throw away the days I was actually productive. They count! These blog entries count!

So here we go! Day 16 of 22! I’ve been knocked down but now I’m sitting up in my sickbed and I must sally forth!

2 thoughts on “Quince Breakdown

Leave a Reply

