Nuh-nuh-nuh Nineteen Nineteen

candy-19-clip-art-at-clker-com-vector-clip-art-online-royalty-free-fpsnug-clipart

Here we are at 19 days! 19 out of 22 days so far. The end goal of creating a writing habit is in sight. This is good. What’s even better? I finally finished the first draft of a science fiction story I’ve been working on since August.

The story, originally intended as a short story in under 9000 words, ballooned to more than double that. My friend and writing group colleagues have suggested that I should stretch it out to novel length. Not sure if I’m ready for that. I have so many ideas for novels that to add this current story to the mix would be overwhelming. I really want to concentrate on short stories for now, but damn novel ideas keep popping up.

With my story just under 20,000 words, a problem has presented itself. 20,000 words means that it’s a novella. Not many literary magazine publishers want to deal with novellas. They want short stories under 10,000. And as far as novellas go, this is a short novella. Book publishers are going to want more. So I think I’ve come up with an idea on how to deal with this conundrum.

After revision, I will use this story to pitch to agents with. If agents and publishers take it as the short novella it is, then great. If publishers say they want more, then I will put my nose to the grindstone and stretch it out to 40,000 words. Hopefully, I can make either happen.

The battle continues.

4 thoughts on “Nuh-nuh-nuh Nineteen Nineteen

    1. I could bring the main character back for more adventures. But not sure how many adventures a diplomat could believably have though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

