What’s the Story, Morning Glory!

635949480083191698-1572705295_morning

I’ve begun to write in the morning when I wake up. Well more like revise in the morning, but you get the idea.

I was listening to an episode of Jeff Goins’ podcast. His guest, Hal Elrod, promoting his book, The Miracle Morning, talked of the benefits of writing and being creative in the morning. In order to do that you have to get up. No hitting the snooze bar! When the alarm goes off, get your ass up! Elrod also suggested that you should have a glass of water next to the alarm clock because having a drink of water when you wake up is more effective at waking you up than coffee.

The best way to not snooze-bar it is to put your alarm clock on the other side of your bedroom away from your bed. This way you will have to physically get out of bed to turn it off. Back in the day, I used to do this. It was helpful for a while, but eventually I developed an immunity towards my alarm clock buzz and stopped hearing it altogether. Once I was in such a deep sleep, my alarm had been buzzing for two hours! Hopefully that doesn’t happen this time around.

So far I’ve been successful. I’ve woken up early five days straight, got out of bed and did about 45 minutes of revision each time. That’s a good start, I’d say. Maybe I should make a 21 day challenge of it and make it a habit. It’s all about living that writer’s life baby!

Now the challenge is to carry this over to the weekends and days I have off. This past Saturday I read and critiqued my fellow writing group member’s work when I got up. But Sunday I didn’t do a darned thing and slept in late. I did finish reading The War of Art, though (I swear I will do a post on this book soon.) But I’m off from work all this week and I haven’t gotten up early to write. I’ve written a bit during my time off, enough to revise two chapters of my novella, but I had time to do more. I still have two more chapters to go in this round of revision. At the same time, I can’t beat myself up for not using my time wisely. Move on and do better and take victory in the fact that I was able to get up early and write last week.

 

Leave a Reply

